Batch Tagging Solutions?

shep

I don't think this is a feature yet, but I easily have tens of thousands of pictures (possibly as many as 100,000) that I'd like to add tags to, all of them taken on family cameras over the span of five years. Emby supports individual tagging, but not batch as of yet (might have missed it though).

How are you guys tagging Emby entries on a mass scale? Is there some third-party software that can tag entries and upload just the tags to Emby? It took about two weeks just to upload all the files to my server running 24/7, so if there's a way to simply update the tags without re-uploading all the pictures, that would be ideal.

And if nothing exists, I can probably write something for it. C# developer by trade, just need an API and I'm all set!

the-dumb1

What you're asking for sounds like a batch metadata editor. I've seen feature requests for this (myself included), and the answer is always that it is a possibility for a future release... But that doesn't help for your immediate needs.

I've resorted to a simple combination of grep and sed to do what I want, but like you would like to see something named in.

Tranquil

I don't think this is a feature yet, but I easily have tens of thousands of pictures (possibly as many as 100,000) that I'd like to add tags to, all of them taken on family cameras over the span of five years. Emby supports individual tagging, but not batch as of yet (might have missed it though).

How are you guys tagging Emby entries on a mass scale? Is there some third-party software that can tag entries and upload just the tags to Emby? It took about two weeks just to upload all the files to my server running 24/7, so if there's a way to simply update the tags without re-uploading all the pictures, that would be ideal.

And if nothing exists, I can probably write something for it. C# developer by trade, just need an API and I'm all set!

API? No Problem, here you go: 

http://127.0.0.1:8096/swagger-ui/