Metadata tools

bruce73

bruce73

I'm new to MB and am trying to organize my video library so that I can use MBT for playback of everything. I've used MyMovies forever, but mainly as a means to keep track of titles. I'd like to make better use of genres and other filters to make sorting easier, rather than relying on folder grouping.

What 3rd party tools are recommended? I tried XMLTagTweaker, but kept getting unhandled exceptions, so didn't get very far. I don't want to have to manually edit all of those movie.xml files.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk

Koleckai Silvestri

You can just use Media Browser Server to do this. It presents you with a nice Web Client interface and you can edit all Metadata for movies and television. If you need to refresh the data, it can go out and gather this (or scrape) from various sites. It will also pull in logos, backgrounds, thumbnails and posters if you want it to. It is all built in. 

If you use other clients like XBMC, you can even write out their Metadata files using the XMBC Metadata plugin. Other plugins like Genre Cleaner help you keep things neat so you don't end up with four different genres for Science Fiction.

As an example, I recently used the Studio Cleaner plugin incorrectly. I ended up deleting all my studios. So I just went to my movie folders and told Media Browser Server to refresh the Metadata for all my movies. 15 minutes later, all my studios were back and everything was working as it should.

Edited by Wayne Luke
  • Like 1

Cheesegeezer

Hi there @@bruce73,

MB will do all the leg work for you with regards to metadata. On the rare occasion that it may not, Just ensure that after you set your collections folders, go into the metadata manager and force refresh, this will populate all metadata required for your collections including artwork.

If you have any other questions, fire away

Edited by Cheesegeezer
  • Like 2

bruce73