Issue: Kodi Identifies Local Emby Trailers as Movies

MarcusJ

MarcusJ

I'm a new user, so I apologize if this issue has been solved or if I am simply missing something, however...\

I have been running kodi for some time now, but recently started running Emby. After loading all my movies into Emby, I loaded Emby for Kodi and it seemed to work pretty well.

Then, I started adding local movie trailers to my Emby database by adding the trailers into a separate "trailers" folder under each movie folder.  When I did this, Emby recognized the trailers immediately.  However, when I then ran kodi, it shows the trailers (moviename-trailer.mp4 files) as "Recently Added" movies.

Has anyone else seen this?  Is there a fix available?

Thank you!

MarcusJ

Thanks Spaceboy, but unfortunately, I am not a programmer, so none of that makes any sense to me.

Is this considered a bug in kodi?  in emby?  or is not considered a bug at all?  Seems like a pretty obvious problem (bug) in my mind, that should have a pretty simple programming fix (for everyone).

Thanks Spaceboy, but unfortunately, I am not a programmer, so none of that makes any sense to me.

Is this considered a bug in kodi?  in emby?  or is not considered a bug at all?  Seems like a pretty obvious problem (bug) in my mind, that should have a pretty simple programming fix (for everyone).

It's not necessarily a bug in Kodi. We (Media Browser, many years ago), came up with the trailers sub-folder convention and whether or not Kodi wants to support it is entirely up to them.

Alternatively you can use a convention that is supported by both programs which which is the trailer right next to the movie file with a -trailer suffix. So for example:

movie.mkv
movie-trailer.mp4
  • Like 1

Vidman

It's not necessarily a bug in Kodi. We (Media Browser, many years ago), came up with the trailers sub-folder convention and whether or not Kodi wants to support it is entirely up to them.