Emby Server on Powerful Routers

Max

Hi All !!!

Being the fact that today's routers already have USB3 and capabilities to handle local storage (also "more" memory, with 512 MB), and there're several projects for linux-based Open SW on those routers (DWRT, Tomato, Padavan...), I was thinking if it would be possible to develop an Emby Server (w/o Transcoding) for such devices...

Honestly, as time goes on I see less reasons why to invest in a powerful NAS (HD can be connected to router, and for critical data that really requires backup you have Cloud services), but Routers are becoming the "center" of the home network.

What do you think? Is this something that has been discussed before? Is in any long-term roadmap? (unfortunately I'm not a programmer myself)

Kr

Max

JeremyFr79

Honestly you may think consumer routers are "powerful" but they're not, they're still devices made with lousy hardware, expected to perform way too much work with buggy software. And then you want to throw (even without transcoding) the load of Emby on one??? I'm sorry that's just comical!

I do think he raises a good point though, as hardware gets cheaper and devices get more powerful, you have the ability to make them do just about anything you want. for example, it would not surprise me if we have the full emby server running on windows phone by the end of the year.

JeremyFr79

I do think he raises a good point though, as hardware gets cheaper and devices get more powerful, you have the ability to make them do just about anything you want. for example, it would not surprise me if we have the full emby server running on windows phone by the end of the year.