Missing images everywhere

2BTSquared

2BTSquared

So... first off... I'm new to Media Browser... So I'm learning...

Looking through the Metadata Manager I note that there are a lot of missing image icons on every level as I drill down through them. For example, my music collection is missing the Primary and Backdrop images. On the artist level some are missing logo images, others are not. On the album level some are missing backdrop images, others are missing backdrop and primary images. On the song level, some are missing the primary image. 

I noted that missing song primary images would show up after I included the album cover image in the ID3 tags for some albums, but not before. On the other hand I've included the album cover image in the ID3 tags on other albums and no primary image ever shows up for the songs. So should one include the album cover image in the ID3 tags or is that a waste?

What images are automatically populated so far seems inconsistent to me. 

Also, I see you can choose many options for Image type when uploading images. Is there a handy explanation/guide for what each of these mean so that one can effectively use them? Or do you just have to figure it out through trial and error?

Also, is there a good source for things like logo's and banners (not that I even know how they are displayed yet)?

Lastly, is there a guide that explains what exactly Media Browser does (how it determines artist/album/movie etc. information and goes out at gets the meta data and images etc.)? I've seen the term scraping used - but hey - since I'm new to this it's french. I don't know, but it seems that I could use Media Browser more effectively if I had some more explicit reading material on how it goes about it's business.  

Hi and welcome to the forum and Media Browser.

To learn more about MB in general I suggest you have a read of the Tutorials & Guides section here

Also have a peruse at the FAQ section here