What is your live TV setup in Windows?

Houseofbricks

Houseofbricks

I'm just getting started with Emby - I've got the server running, the PVR functionality connected to my HD Homerun, downloaded the app on my phone and it all looks and works fantastically. But I'm a little confused about the various options available to me for a desktop client. It seems I have:

• Emby Theater. Seems functional, and has most of what I use, but also seems barebones (particularly in design) - I assume there's more to come there.
  • The Windows App Store App. It costs $4.99 so I can't actually try it out, but it looks like it has all the features I require, but is also maybe lacking design polish. Can anyone that has used it weigh in on whether it's better or worse than Emby Theater?
  • Kodi. I've seen the Kodi plugin, but it's lacking live TV functionality. So I thought that maybe I could use a different PVR service (e.g. NextPVR) and have Kodi side-step Emby for live TV and go directly to the separate PVR program. But that seems convoluted - I'd much rather than be using the one Emby backend if I can.

Can anyone weigh in on which option works best, what setup they have running, etc. etc.?

Thanks!

legallink

By desktop, do you mean sitting at your computer or otherwise....aka htpc connected to a tv?

from desktop, I actually use the browser, as emby theater isn't that smooth for me, and Kodi just seemed like too much when all I want to do is play something while I am working.

I have not used the windows store app, so I can't comment on that one.

overClocked!

I am using Windows Media Center (Window 7 Professional 64-bit) with a Ceton InfiniTV 4 PCIe tuner card as the basis for Live TV. I use the ServerWMC plug-in to make the functions available to Emby. Works great across all mobile and remote apps that support LiveTV. But I still use Media Center to watch on the main TV my server is connected to.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Houseofbricks