Rebuilding Server/ Buying Used Pc - Need opinions and suggestions

michael_knight

michael_knight

So I just received some bad news...It's been confirmed that my current PC is crap and won't run Live TV. That said I'm debating either upgrading the CPU or buying a Core I3, I5 Or I7. I'm hoping I can get a few suggestions as I'm just starting out using Emby and HD Homerun Here's the background:

I have a Frankenbox that I took off someone's hands a few years ago.It's an Intel Pentium Dual e2160@ 1.8ghz and the box has 4gb of ram (the max amount of ram for this board). I'm running server 2012 on it. I own the copy of 2012 Server but I don't own any other OS at the time I would have to pay for Win 7-10

I have 2 Hard Drives in it. One for the OS and the other for files. The drive the OS is on makes a defrag sounding sound so I think I may need to upgrade that, but not sure if it's being overworked because of the low processor

The cord for the internal soundcard to connect to the mother board is cut (can't remember if I bought it that way or if I messed it up) The internal video card is outdated as well. I thought about buying another used video card and sound card

The Processor Socket is a LGA775 The fastest processor I can get for this btw is a Intel Core 2 Extreme Socket QX9770 which has 4 cores at 3.2Ghz. Ebay doesn't have many of these. I've found a Qx9650 which is a 3Ghz processor with 4 cores.

I'm leaning towards buying a used processor (9650 or 9770) and buying a cheap video card and sound card for the server. I have seen various bench tests using the 9650 ranging from 30-60 fps depending on the software used. I don't want to however buy this chip for 50-100 dollars and be disappointed.

I'm interested in any comments you have to help me make my decision.

Here's the specs for the motherboard

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3485#sp