How To Properly Label And Sort Sequels

BigGoose62

BigGoose62

Hello all,

I am new to MBT, and absolutely love it. I do have a question that I hope somebody can answer.

I'd like to hear how people prefer to label and sort their movie franchises. For example, how do you label and sort the Die Hard movies (Die Hard, Die Hard 2: Die Harder, Die Hard With A Vengeance, Live Free Or Die Hard, A Good Day To Die Hard)? I find it difficult to not use the actual title, but I also want them to appear in the proper order following the first in the series. Is there any possible way to do this in MBT?

So basically, I'd love to have my collection look like this:

Death Proof

Detroit Rock City

Die Hard

Die Hard 2: Die Harder

Die Hard With A Vengeance

Live Free Or Die Hard

A Good Day To Die Hard

District 9

Django Unchained

What I have attempted to do so far (sorry that it's a different franchise as the example) is put all the James Bond movies in a folder titled James Bond[boxset]. Inside this folder are subfolders for each movie. But since I want those in order, I put a number in front. This doesn't seem to work though because the whole boxset rule isn't followed by MBT, and the movies just show up at the beginning of the list with the rest of the number-titled movies.

I hope any of this is making sense. I'd love some input from some people in the know.

And I work nights and sleep days, so I might not reply immediately. But I will gladly reply if I need to explain this better!

RaxPower

In the metadata editor (on MBS) you can use the field "Sort name" to tell where to put the item in the list. In the case of wanting the Die Hard films to appear in order of the sequels, i named each one "Die Hard 1" and so on. I haven't used boxets yet so james bond for me is set to use James Bond x to put them in aired order in the list.

WWWestern

For sorting in MB3 use "Sort name" field when editing metadata in MBS like "die hard - 1", "die hard - 2" etc.