emby and 4k

okaenrique

thefirstofthe300

4K is just a fancy way of saying extremely high resolution video.  Emby has support for h265 decoders and encoders (the codec that 4k uses).  You just have to make sure that the FFMpeg version Emby uses has them (I believe the one that Emby downloads does).  The server itself should have no issues with playing 4k videos.  Where you will run into limitations are the clients that will support 4k video.  Most Android devices don't have 4k support yet.  The web client I can guarantee you won't since I don't know of any browsers that support h265.  Emby for Kodi more than likely has support for 4k depending on the Kodi version you run.  I have no knowledge of iOS so I can't say anything there.  The Roku 4 is going to be the only Roku so far to support 4k.

I guess what I am saying is it all depends on your environment.  The server itself supports 4k provided you have the bandwidth to direct stream.  The clients all depend on what the device is capable of supporting.

MSattler

4K is just a fancy way of saying extremely high resolution video.  Emby has support for h265 decoders and encoders (the codec that 4k uses).  You just have to make sure that the FFMpeg version Emby uses has them (I believe the one that Emby downloads does).  The server itself should have no issues with playing 4k videos.  Where you will run into limitations are the clients that will support 4k video.  Most Android devices don't have 4k support yet.  The web client I can guarantee you won't since I don't know of any browsers that support h265.  Emby for Kodi more than likely has support for 4k depending on the Kodi version you run.  I have no knowledge of iOS so I can't say anything there.  The Roku 4 is going to be the only Roku so far to support 4k.