Newbie needs help, setup works but can't play files

gmacman

gmacman

I’m trying to setup Emby using the FreeNAS plugin to be used with the Kodi/Emby plugin on a few FireTVs.  I'm a real newbie with all this (including setting up the FreeNAS machine) so please go easy on me.

I’ve tried to look over a number of other “newbie” threads but I’m afraid the few that talk about path substation (which is where I think I may have messed up) don’t go into details about what it should look like (or at least in the detail I need to understand it).

The steps I’ve done:

I set up Emby plugin within a jail adding storage to my FreeNAS and it certainly is working with syncing metadata.  I can manage the Emby server thru the IP that the FreeNAS jail provided (so I get to the dashboard, managing the files, etc.)

However, I cannot play any file either thru Kodi or even thru the browser where I can access the Dashboard.  I currently have path substation (which again being a newbie I’m not quite sure I did this correctly) as follows:

From
/usr/local/videolibrary
(this is the storage “Destination” within the emby jail)

To
\\mnt\granland\Movies
(this is the storage “Source” within the emby jail)

I’m attaching the transcode log file when I try to play a movie via browser.

Also, I’m a Mac guy so maybe I did not correctly set up the CIFS since the last line in the log states “file:/usr/local/videolibrary/Clue (1985).mkv: Permission denied”.   But I set this up with just the very basic settings.

So, I’m completely lost and don’t get why I can see and manage the server (including accessing the files to manage metadata) but can’t access the file to play.  Any detail help or even pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

emby_log.txt

gmacman