Using OAuth2

thefirstofthe300

thefirstofthe300

I am attempting to get a plugin working (Luke probably knows which one ;) ) and I am wondering how to get OAuth working. This is my first time even attempting to work with OAuth so I am very unfamiliar with the workflow. However, based on my understanding of what I have read, the workflow goes something like this:

1. I post to the OAuth URL with the client_id and a pop up with the sign in page for the service pops up.
  2. The user grants permission for the app to access the user's account.
  3. The app receives an authorization code and redirects to the value of the redirect URI.
  4. The app requests an auth token from the OAuth server using the client_id, client_secret, and authorization code.
  5. If authorization is successful, the app receives an auth token and a refresh token which it then uses to communicate with the server.
  6. When the auth token expires, the app uses the refresh token to get a valid auth token.

Due to the nature of OAuth, I really haven't found a way to simply login with a username and password that doesn't revoke the ability to use a refresh token so that is out of the question (due to the nature of what I am trying to do).

If I am incorrect in any of the above points, please correct me. :)

My question is this: will the OAuth popup work with the plugin configuration? I imagine it would but I don't want to get into this, have it not work, and be chasing my tail attempting to figure out why if the problem is with the server itself.

hamstercat

Yeah it does work, OAuth2 is not the simplest thing to understand but once you get the hang of it it's fine. You can look at my Google Drive one if you need inspiration, I'm using OAuth there as well in the config page.

thefirstofthe300

Thanks hamstercat. That was all I needed to know. ;)

Any idea when your Drive plugin is getting published? I personally use Drive and would like to see how it works (auth and all).