Crash course for interested devs?

jluce50

jluce50

I've been talking to another active user (cayars) about getting more involved in development, particularly in the realm of transcoding. Neither of us are really sure how to jump in and the idea of doing a WebEx (or similar) came up. Speaking for myself, I'm new to github and, obviously, whatever processes are in place specific to MB3 development. Would this be something one (or more) of the MB3 folks would be interested in doing? Or is there already a process in place for fast-tracking experienced developers into the world of MB3?

FWIW, this wouldn't have to be focused solely on transcoding. We could open it up to anyone interested in development in any area. Whatever you think would work best...

Edited by jluce50
  • Like 2

I'd love to have a FEW WebEx type sessions covering the basics.  It would be great to record them for future use also!

Some ideas: What's the navigational structure of the code, where to more easily find things in the code. How to build and test. Any tips and tricks people should know.

Anything obvious or not that help help devs ramp up quicker and get their feet wet is a very good thing.

How many others would be interested in something like this if it were to be done?

Carlo

+1 for me. I am always looking to gain experience (I am only a couple years old in development... and it shows sometimes...).

thefirstofthe300

+1 for this from me too.  I would just ask that the sessions be recorded and posted somewhere (YouTube maybe).

Plugin development has been an OK way for me to start but as this is my first time working on a project this size, it would be nice to have an overview of how things are put together.

Also, I would request a page for plugin devs that just lists the interfaces that would be useful to plugins and a brief summary of what they do.

Beardyname