Essential questions from a WMC / CableCARD user

KD6ICZ

Ok.... I've searched and searched but can't get a clear YES or NO answer to my question.

I use WMC with two Ceton tuners and TWC. I think TWC locks all channels down as copy once.

I want to eliminate my Slingbox and placeshift directly from my WMC server with Mediabrowser. Is this possible? Will I have complete access to live and recorded TV? Is there a easy to follow tutorial that tells me how to set this up?

I'm not an expert but I think the only way you can playback those channels is with WMC.  That means you wouldn't be able to stream them to other MB clients.

I'm not an expert but I think the only way you can playback those channels is with WMC. That means you wouldn't be able to stream them to other MB clients.

Thank you!

Looks like I'm still stuck using Slingbox.

Got it. I would really like to find a virtual WMC Extender. Software that looks like an extender to WMC but actually transcodes for placeshifting. I'm sure there are many legal issues with this. But then again Tivo does it so I don't know.

reluctantflux

I'm confused with those that think this won't work.  This should work fine with ServerWMC + WMC + Mediabrowser.  That's how my setup is, and I don't have any issues, but I don't think I have any copy once channels.  But in theory, since WMC is doing all of the initial recording into a WTV file, it should just work.  

By Playshifting, you mean pause/rewind/fast forward live tv, right?  The only way you might have issues in this setup is if you try to use DLNA direct from the tuner for Copy Once channels.  I know SiliconDust has DLNA, not sure about your Cetons.  If it does, DLNA might not work, but then you just turn off that capability, and it will transcode everything for you.  

You can use an Xbox 360 as an Extender to WMC.