Option to choose display device

muzza

Hi,

I'm new to this forum so I hope I'm in the right place. I've been using Media Browser for a few years now and it's great. Well done on an excellent product.

Having now moved to MB3, I run MB server on my HTPC. I also run WMC so I run MB Classic which works well . I now have MB working on my android phone.

However I would like to be able to use my phone as a sophisticated remote control that allows me to select what I want to see, but I select playback it occurs on my server screen, rather than on my phone.

This behaviour is similar to another app called "My Media Center" where I can use my phone to choose what I want to view from Recorded TV, and when I hit play, it plays on my HTPC rather than my phone.

Is there currently a way to do this with MB for Android that I have missed or is it a possible future feature ?

Thanks

AdrianW

If you use the WebUI on your phone you can select MBC (or other currently running apps, including devices like smart TV's) as the playback device. 

Click the "Select Player" button at the top right of the WebUI to select the player. You can also bring up a remote control screen from the same menu.

Thanks for you reply Adrian.

I tried as you suggested but when I look at the Select Player menu the only option I have is "My Browser". There is no MB Classic option even though I have Windows Media Centre running on the server.

If I open the Server Dashboard page on the server (IE) I then get an additional player choice of "Internet Explorer 11.0 Dashboard".

Is there some service I need to run to get MBC to show up on the list of client player choices ?

Thanks Adrian,

You're right, I was only in WMC. When I went into MBC on the server it was then available as an option on my android device and it does work.