Learning the server code and plugin structure (for complete noobs)

thefirstofthe300

thefirstofthe300

I am interested in starting to contribute patches to the server and plugins and maybe have a go at writing some plugins of my own; however, I have no clue where to start.

I have very little experience programming and am open to learning C# (I will be taking college classes for C and C++ in the near future so hoping to learn a lot there), but my dev environment will be a Linux-based one.

Also, I am a person who has to understand exactly how things interface with each other before I can really start to make sense of things in my head. I have no experience with large code-bases.  

My questions are

• How well will Linux work as a dev environment? Do I need use a Windows OS for development?
  • Do I need to use a specific IDE?
  • What would be the best place for me to start to work through the server code so that I can actually understand how the plugins interface with the server?
  • Do you have any good resources for the core C# libraries that will help me work through the classes and libraries that Media Browser makes use of so that I can understand what is happening in each module/library/namespace?

I would be willing to put in the work to get going with this project. I will probably just need a lot of help to start out with, but I don't want to weigh anybody down (especially Luke, I know he is EXTREMELY busy with server coding. In fact, I am amazed at how fast he churns out releases :) ). I just ask that you be patient with me as this is the first project that I will be making any significant contribution too. I also suspect it may be several months before any of my effort amounts to anything as I am in college at the moment.