Subtitles?

GizmoGuy

GizmoGuy

Hi all... newbie here... well, MB3 newbie.

Subtitles are critical for us (hearing problems).

Can't find subtitles for movies with MB3.  All my movies are MakeMKV rips with subtitles included.  Been running old MB in MCE environment for several years using MPC-HC as external player within MB and had subtitle control from the "i" button on MCE remote.  With MB3, "i" gets me only the MCE main settings menu. 

MB3 server and client running on same HTPC (Win7Pro, i3).  Found an external player selection on the MB Browser/WebClient tab but shows only "Vlc" as a selection. 

I've been through all the guides but the client guide is apparently not updated for latest version as it shows the old screens for enabling an external client.

1. Is there a way with native MB3 to get MKV subtitles to display?

2. If not, how do I get MB3 to use MPC-HC as an external player? (I assume this would get me back to my prior subtitle capability).

I LOVE the new MB3 interface and capabilities... vast improvement!! Great work!! :D   Got to have subtitles though else, for us, it is useless. :(

politby

The only way I can get MKV subtitles to work reliably is with Media Browser Classic using MPC - HC as an external player.

The Android and windows 8.1 apps both struggle so much with subtitles that they are really useless if you need subtitles. I haven't used the web client for a while so I cannot say it works better.

--

There are two kinds of people. Those who can extrapolate from missing information.

AdrianW

It sounds like you already have Media Center on your HTPC - so I'd suggest installing Media Browser Classic (MBC) - this is the direct replacement for MB2. I'm using MBC with MPC-HC as an external player, and subs work perfectly, I also have the server (MBS) running on the same PC, just like you.