WMC/MBC just gives me an error when trying to start any MKV or FLAC, but MP3 plays without problems.

knuta
Go to solution Solved by ebr,

Hi

I'm very new to the whole MB system. I'm also using JRiver and sometimes XBMC, but I like to try new things too.

I honestly can't say I like anything about WMC, except maybe the animated "playing now" screen for music, that prevents burn-in on my plasma.

What I do like is the server part of MB3 and all the possibilities it has. I've changed the way my TV-Shows and movies are structured just to make the server work as intended.

Restructuring my music is a whole lot more problematic seeing as my collection of FLAC is just stupidly large at close to half a million tracks, but I'll see how MB handles that I guess.

Biggest problem I've seen is one folder I have where I have placed just single tracks not belonging to any album. The server didn't like that very much. Luckily at least 99.9% of my collection is complete albums in separate folders.

Of course the reason I decided to restructure for MB3 is because there will be a dedicated client for the PC some day, hopefully soon.

But, for now, I'm stuck with either playing through the browser or WMC/MBC.

Now that is where my problem lies. Playing through the browser (Chrome) works just fine with whatever format I throw at it, but MBC will just give me an error whenever I try to play MKVs or FLAC. For audio the error says "An audio error has occured (C00D0FEA)" and for video it says "Windows Media Center cannot find the specified file...." and so on. Playing MP3 works just fine. I don't know if it is a coincidence that it errors out on files that WMC doesn't natively support, but it sure seems that way. The strangest thing is that I'm sure video and FLAC played through the WMC/MBC combo the first day I used it at least, but now it refuses to work even though nothing has changed to my knowledge.