Empty Libraries after Update, but content still accessible

Tom_44
Go to solution Solved by Tom_44,

Tom_44

Hi all,

Before I start with my problem on latest versions, I would like to say some words of thanks to the developers...
I've been using emby since 2017 and I enjoyed it every day. You're doing a great job and I say thank you so much for your work !

Most of the time I was behind the current version, but this granted a stable and reliable database with no problems. My database grew every week upto over 1500 entries. This is I don't want to get lost, especially the many handmade corrections. It worked perfectly with Kodi and the emby plugin.
Lately, I decided to perform an update from 4.5.4 to 4.8.3, because of the promissing new features and the hope of getting rid of some streaming/conversion issues when using on travel. But this became a terrible job. First, I was informed by the update, it can't longer use my old libc. So, I had to upgrade from Debian 8 to 12 in a step by step job. Meanwhile the system is stable and well after a few days of works. Then, I could upgrade to emby 4.8.4. The update did not show any error. I had some unresolvable trouble with OMV, which I finally deactivated.

What I recognized immediately, was the nearly empyt start page. Only "continue watching" and "my media". I had 4 libraries: movies, series, camera uploads (empty), collections. In neither was any content shown. What I discovered quickly: searching is doing well and all media is still there and even the database still seems to be there. I can search for a title and start viewing it w/o a problem. All details of movies, including my viewing state is available. Even the "View" section shows complete content of the database.

But, library content is empty, showing "0 entries" in the selection line. This is also a problem when Kodi request the library content, which is reported to be 0 entries. Kodi has deleted its local copy - not able to select any movie.