PGS subs v. VOB/SUB subs

lancelot381

lancelot381

I am an amateur, having a problem displaying PGS subs on the TV screen.  I ripped appropriately 180 DVD / Blu-ray discs, using "make MKV" and reduce the files to a smaller MKV file with the Handbrake program.  Approximately 80% of the MKV files turned out to have the PGS format subs and the rest are VOB/SUB format files.  I am using an Panasonic DMP-BD84P-K player who does display the VOB/SUB subs perfectly on the TV screen however, does not, or is not capable of displaying (transmitting the PGS subs) to the TV screen.  The Casablanca movie file for example has 14 different foreign PGS sub files, which will not shown up on the TV screen. The movie "It started in Naples" has just as many VOB/SUB subs, which are displayed correctly on the TV screen. Can the batch of PGS subs be converted / changed into the VOB/SUB format, so that they are also transmitted to the screen by my Panasonic? 

Can the batch of PGS subs be converted / changed into the VOB/SUB format,

hi, I think there are tools to convert between these formats but I don't know of any offhand. @pwhodgesmight know.

pwhodges
2 hours ago, Luke said:

hi, I think there are tools to convert between these formats but I don't know of any offhand. @pwhodgesmight know.

Yes, there is a Java program to do this conversion: BDSup2Sub.  It's over ten years old - but so are the formats.  It will be tedious, as you need to extract the subs first, convert them, and then remux them in - for each affected file.  

For the files with multiple subs you can omit the unwanted ones in HandBrake, if you're using it, or separately using MKVToolNix.

But I agree with Luke - what needed is to find out why these PGS subs are not being shown on your TV, and fix that.

Paul

• Thanks 1

badous

What if you disable hardware transcoding and see if with software transcoding it will display them?

lancelot381
On 3/12/2024 at 4:00 PM, Luke said: