Questions of a Kodi & Emby newbie

Crix1990

Crix1990

Hi everyone,

So, finally the day is here, that I go away from MediaPortal (after 15 years...).

I'll go with Kody on LibreElec (on a Ryzen 8600G) and a hand of Fire TV 4k Max sticks.

Since my home is used to ahve a multi client system with database and progress sync, I took a look, what will work best and found emby.
Emby itself is already up and running on my Synology DS918+ (newest DSM 7) and it looks pretty good.

All files are also on the Synology, so I placed in addition to the folders always the network path.

So, since I am waiting for the new vlient hardware to arrive, I have 2-3 questions, that I do not found a direct answer, even if they are complete newbie questions:
What do I need to ensure that Kodi uses the network path to enter fhe "raw" files and uses it's own player?
(I do not want to ahve enything streamed via emby, I just want to have it to manage my database and sync the progress. Playback (incl. 4k HDR with DTS-HD, etc., should be handled directly by Kodi.)

Regarding the streaming via emby in the browser to the PC, how do I need to do the best setup if I just want to use it in my LAN (all Aruba 1G company grade equiptment)?
I have the streaming on "Auto", but 4k material does not work (just a few frames till it freezes), wile the same files worke just fine via Windows SMB and VLC.
Does the Synology reencode all the streams (I see that the CPU went to 100% instantly)?
And if so, how can I do best to reduce the load on the Synology?
Is there a way to "just fowward the file"?

Thank you for your answers and with kind regards,
Felix

arrbee99

Just as an ordinary user, I would imagine you are transcoding and the Synology can't cope. You could possibly try using Emby Theater on your PC (I think it direct plays more stuff) and/or try experimenting with playing different audio streams. Also if you're using subtitles try switching them off to see if it helps.