Can Emby Server be used with MinimServer?

RoySim

RoySim

Hi - I am looking for a single media app. on my QNAP TS-251 that will play all my media (photos, movies, music) to all the family Android devices (tablets, phones, Android TV) and am trialling Emby. It is looking good except for the music player. My music collection is 90% classical music and most media players, including Emby, do not handle classical properly. I currently use MinimServer, which is excellent, on the QNAP with BubbleUpnp as client on devices and Sony Media Player on Android TV. As far as I remember both of these apps. recognised MinimServer automatically. The Emby client does not do this.

Is there any way that I can configure the Emby Server so that I can set up a Music Library using MinimServer which will then be recognised by the Emby clients??

You will see from my question that I am not technical so please keep any replies simple!

Thanks and best wishes - Roy

Hi, why do you think Emby doesn’t handle classical properly?

RoySim

Hi Luke. Perhaps more accurate if I had written that with my tagging and folder/file structure Emby does not give the results I want.

My starting point for choosing music to play is usually either Genre or Composer. After selecting a Genre I am getting an alphabetic listing of all albums in my library whereas I need Genre>Composer>Album>Movement or song. After selecting a Composer I get an alphabetic list of all movements or songs but I need Composer>Album>Movement or song. All my tagging was done with Foobar 2000 or earlier releases, which is described in https://wiki.hydrogenaud.io/index.php?title=Foobar2000:ID3_Tag_Mapping

The folder/file structure I use is QNAPname>Music>Final>Composer>Work (equiv. to Album Title)>Movement etc (equiv. to Track Title). Each Work folder also contains album art - cover.jpg and back.jpg. I think this structure will be common in classical music collections. I loaded the Final folder into my newly-created Emby Music library.