Unable to connect Remotely to Emby Server

Bpeklund

Bpeklund

Hello,

I've been hosting an Emby Server on my Nvidia Shield for several years without any real issues up until a few days ago. I saw my WAN address had changed to an IP6 address. Suddenly, all my family members lost the ability to connect remotely to the server. 

image.png.c3178bba94fd7dc1dd768121fde74499.png 

While I'm not new to networking, I went down the rabbit hole of setting up a Domain and SSL certificates, just to get frustrated with Xfinity's xFi modem/router's inability to use a Dynamic DNS service. I don't have a PC that is always on to use an IP checker, trying to sideload applications onto the Shield seems clunky and cumbersome, and I rather have the entire process automated.

I attempted to set the external domain to my public IP address with no luck. I installed an Emby server on a windows computer, it had an IP4 address, I connected to it instantly. About 20 minutes later, I was unable to connect to the same WAN address. I check the port through canyouseeme.org and it was unable, even though the Shield has had the port forwarding setup for sometime.

I'm at a loss at what to do next and would appreciate any suggestions. 

js28194

I believe your WAN address is coming directly from Xfinity Gateway, I don't know much about those, but I think your area has converted to IPv6.  I do not know if you can go inot the Gateway and look at settings to force it IPv4.

Back when I had comcast, I used my own modem/router giving me full control and I do not think you have full control over the xFinity Gateway.  You could try going into your domain name (wherever you registered) and update it your IPv6 and see if that works.  Just some thoughts....

Bpeklund
16 minutes ago, js28194 said: