Can't get Emby to see any files in the mounted folder in TrueNAS

cmrho

Hi all. This is my first time setting up TrueNAS as well as Emby. So I'm a pretty novice NAS person. I do have a pretty extensive knowledge of Windows based systems and TCP stuff. I've researched my issue and nothing I do works. The problem is that Emby doesn't see any files in the mounted folder. I've checked many items and tried different things:

1) I tried shutting down the SMB share service, stopping the Emby jail, removing, re-adding the mount point, starting the SMB share service again - no joy.

2) I've checked permissions for the folder in TrueNAS, I think, and set the ACL to OPEN preset for all users. Still no joy.

3) I'm not sure whether the emby user login is the same as the TrueNAS login - I suspect it is not - but would love some clarification there.

4) Emby DLNA works fine. I can see it from my smart TV.

I think this is a permissions issue. I've tried to set all sorts of permissions for the ACL to 'Open', but nothing seems to work. I'd love some help from some experienced Emby and TrueNAS users. Thanks so much!

Is Emby in a Jail in Freenas, if so you have to go to the jail and get it to look at the Pool in Freenas which is outside the jail.

Jail menu, click Emby there will be an arrow on the right, click that to bring up the menu. There is Mount Points at the bottom to add the pool/s to the jail.

Edited by Townsey

Well it looks ok, what if you drill down further using the three dots and Edit ACL do the User and Group match you setup?

Of course your setup might well differ from mine.

Aaah I have notice one thing on the path you have media, but the pool is Test Dataset, which I believe you should add after media in the destination

image.png.74e3c5b1149750441944778535200e66.png

Edited by Townsey