Adding 1 chapter.xml to multiple MKV Files

bartpet

Hello, 

I am adding chapters to my collection of movies and tv episodes. I made many chapter.xml files with mkvtoolnix with different movie-lengths. I want to use one chapter.xml file to add chapters to multiple mkv files with the same movie-length. I didn't find a way yet. I'm a newbie when it comes to using scripts. I have XYplorer as a file manager and using scripts with this app went smoothly. Does anyone now how i can batch-add the chapters of 1 xml file into multiple MKV Files. Thank you

Greetings Bart Peters

I tried with mkvtoolnix in chapter editor. I can load all mkv files into mkvtoolnix chapter editor. They show up as tabs. Than i can load one of my custom chapters.xml files. But to apply this chapters.xml i have to copy this "edition" to all the open tabs. The only way i can do this is one by one. I don't see the option to load chapter. xml files into makemkv. 

rbjtech

Use mkvmerge - this is a command line version of mkvtoolnix

mkvmerge -o <newfile.mkv> <originalfile.mkv> --chapters <chapter file.xml>

chapter file must be MKV compatible - which if you created in the GUI mkvtoolnix, it should be (.xml)

Run from a command line - in windows use cmd etc

If you have 100's of files, then you'll neeed a script to insert the filenames, but if you only have a few, then just manually run the above multiple times.

https://mkvtoolnix.download/doc/mkvmerge.html

Thanks for your reply

I have several chapter.xml files made in MKVToolnix with different video-playtime-lenghts. I have several 100's of MKV files all of the same lenght. To add chapter with a chapter.xml file in MKVToolnix is no problem for me. But adding about 150 MKV files and manually append the chapter.xml to all the open MKV-file-tabs takes a long time. I think that a script would do the trick, unless i overlooked some options to do this in MKVToolnix Chapter Editor.

rbjtech
18 hours ago, bartpet said:

Thanks for your reply