Emby UHD Playback Recommendations

FlameRed
Go to solution Solved by rbjtech,

FlameRed

Please forgive me if I posted this in the wrong section as I am a newbie!

I am having difficulties with UHD 4K playback and would like some guidance on Emby recommended setup.

First, my setup. I am running Emby on a Asustor Lockerstor 4 NAS. I found the best result was running Emby directly on a Samsung QLED 4K Q80C Series TV.

I have tried converting the UHD into a MKV container with various settings. In all cases, when played back, I get buffering or shuttering, picture pauses, or spinning torrent.

In all cases, when I try to playback the converted MKV container on the NAS on a windows PC they play flawlessly so the conversions seem to be ok. DNLA does not work as it seems to always say some cryptic message about the encoding being incompatible. I would prefer Emby anyway.

The Samsung built-in Emby app has the least buffering. I have tried payback using Emby on two different model Roku devices and they buffer even worse. I tried other TVs, including a LG and another Samsung and they are about the same buffering.

I definitely determined that if I turn off closed captioning, the buffering is less, but it is still bad without captions.

I have been searching for days and have seen posts saying to stay away from TrueHD.

I understand that for full support, I should post logs from the playback to get at the root of the problem. But before I do that, what are the Emby recommendations for 4k UDH playback and I will try converting to that first and then post logs. I would think there is little point posting logs for settings that are not optimal.

Thank you in advance!

• 2 weeks later...
FlameRed

Hello,

Here is are two samples where I could use some advice in regards to playback of a 4K video.