New TCL QM8 TV & Emby for Android TV app

RRmovies
Go to solution Solved by ebr,

RRmovies

Hello.. This is my first time in here and I will deeply apologize ahead of time for my lack of knowledge of Emby. Up until now I had no issues. I have researched and tried different things to get the video & audio on some movies on this new tv to stop stuttering. The TCL QM8 was just released about a week ago. I have many tv's in my home and all of them play all of my movies with no issues (including another TCL Series 6 tv). This new QM8 tv is giving me a fit. This tv has Google TV (not the usual Roku that TCL uses). I downloaded Emby for Android TV, entered all of the needed information, and was able to log into my home media server just fine. As I mentioned some movies on this new tv play fine and others are skipping and stuttering really bad. To test things I plugged in a Formuler Z8 4K box into this new tv and ran the same Emby for Android TV app and that plays fine through this new tv.. So I guess the issue is when I run the Emby for Android TV app directly off the tv and it's built in apps..

I tested other apps like Netflix, Prime, YouTube, and others and they all play videos with no issues. It's only doing this when running the app directly off the tv. I'd like to run Emby directly off the tv but for now I have to use my Formuler Z8 Android box.  

embyserver (1).txt

Edited by RRmovies

• Solution

Hi. Try setting the audio output option in the app to mix down to stereo to see if that makes a difference. 

• Like 1

RRmovies

WOW!! Thank you for that reply. I did change the audio to mix down to stereo and now it seems to be playing on this new tv just fine now. You would think these latest tv's (TCL's highest model's) would play these formats! My Formuler Z8 Android box handles it better haha.   

By changing that setting does that mean the audio will only play in the left & right channel and not surround?? 

Thanks again for the help team