Has my Windows emby server been hacked.

tongeha

tongeha

I will preface this by saying I have over 20 years experience developing software in C++ and Java on many different platforms. 

I was checking my emby server today to see who is streaming, I do this by opening Process Explorer and looking at the ffmpeg processes that are running. I know I could just look at the emby manager but I'm a low level kind of guy. While in procexp I noticed 5 hidden command windows that have executed their command and were sitting idle. I could see the command they were trying to execute. The command was trying to download a dll file to the emby install directory. The dll was called helper.dll it was being downloaded from this URL.

https://explain7843-1253122316.cos.ap-beijing.myqcloud.com/helper.dll

I tried downloading the file so I could decompile it and see if it was legit but both my Win 10 and 11 servers flagged it a virus. So I hopped over to a nix box and grabbed the file.

I ran the strings command on the dll and it is definitely emby related and written in .net,  

A few of the more interesting strings are:

EmbyHelper.EventManagers.SessionManager

/EmbyHelper/CleanLogs

/EmbyHelper/Ping

EmbyHelper.Api

EmbyHelper.dll

Anthony Musgrove

The question is is this a legit file that Windows is erroneously flagging as a virus or has emby been compromise and tricked into trying to install some hacked plugin or addon.

• Thanks 1

Hello tongeha,

** This is an auto reply **

Please wait for someone from staff support or our members to reply to you.

It's recommended to provide more info, as it explain in this thread:

Thank you.

Emby Team

TeamB

The domain info:

https://www.netify.ai/resources/domains/myqcloud.com

It looks like a CDN

it could be an FP, if you have the sample submit it to

https://www.virustotal.com

The details I have for the file

helper.dll
0ae4f9ca1906d7fa6e7b4d43c32dee52d281d615de451a67e2407c0e6a32dc2b