Trying to get NGINX to work

Sanctimonious

Sanctimonious

I know that there are a million threads on this, but I've been banging my head against this for a few months now so please don't flame me. I am about to give up.

I followed the directions in this thread:

I was able to get NGINX installed, but I think it is failing because I don't have the SSL files (ssl/pub.pem and ssl/pvt.pem). I have no idea how to get those or where to put them.

The log only says:

"A start job for unit nginx.service has finished with a failure.

The job identifier is 69240 and the job result is failed."

On the domain management page, there is a button that says "Get EAB key" which pops up a window with an "EAB Key ID" and a "EAB HMAC Key". Are these the values I put into pub.pem and pvt.pem? Do I just make a file with the value in this popup?

Edited by Sanctimonious

Sanctimonious

Thank you for the quick reply, Luke!

It is identical to the one in that how-to thread. I just copied and pasted it in with no changes except my domain (line 70). 

pir8radio
On 5/7/2023 at 5:25 PM, Sanctimonious said:

Thank you for the quick reply, Luke!

It is identical to the one in that how-to thread. I just copied and pasted it in with no changes except my domain (line 70). 

yea you have to generate ssl certs and put their paths into that config..    there are tons of how to get a free ssl on the web i didnt add that to my how to.. 

here is one.   https://www.nginx.com/blog/using-free-ssltls-certificates-from-lets-encrypt-with-nginx/

Edited by pir8radio

Sanctimonious
On 5/8/2023 at 7:20 PM, pir8radio said:

yea you have to generate ssl certs and put their paths into that config..    there are tons of how to get a free ssl on the web i didnt add that to my how to.. 

here is one.   https://www.nginx.com/blog/using-free-ssltls-certificates-from-lets-encrypt-with-nginx/

Hello,

I followed the instructions at that link, and got stuck at this step: