CPU Usage

Derek Webb

Derek Webb

I am new to the NAS server so not sure if it is a problem with Emby or my settings on the NAS but figured I'd start here.  Emby worked and played fine when it was on my computer, but I had issues remotely when using a VPN, so I recently added a DS223 Synology NAS to my home network.  Totally fixed the remote access problem.  But two new problems have arose.  1).  When I first open Emby, even on the home network, it takes a LONG time to load.  Often several minutes.  It is like the whole thing has gone to sleep and it is rebooting as it wakes.  But file access and syncing on the NAS is quick, accessible and fine.  Very annoying but I can live with it.  2). Sometimes it plays fine, but often it starts transcoding and CPU goes to 97% or more and playback keeps pausing.  This is on the home network which is a 1000Mbps connection.  I tried rebooting emby and messed with the playback settings to see if I could get it to direct play instead of transcoding and then it switched to 4 ffmpeg processes being open on the NAS and CPU still maxed out.  Sometimes it will play one movie or episode then act up, often it will happen right away.  But it makes my library unwatchable.  Any ideas?

GrimReaper
9 minutes ago, Derek Webb said:

2). Sometimes it plays fine, but often it starts transcoding and CPU goes to 97% or more and playback keeps pausing.  This is on the home network which is a 1000Mbps connection.  I tried rebooting emby and messed with the playback settings to see if I could get it to direct play instead of transcoding and then it switched to 4 ffmpeg processes being open on the NAS and CPU still maxed out.  Sometimes it will play one movie or episode then act up, often it will happen right away.  But it makes my library unwatchable.  Any ideas?

Transcoding reasons could be various, exact example(s) together with ffmpeg log(s) are needed. 

Derek Webb