advice for a new linux server build

alberto.bracci

alberto.bracci

Hi all, I am on the lookout for a new build for my linux emby server. 
I am currently using a 10+old repurposed pc (super old intel pentium), and wanted to build a new future proof-ish pc without breaking the bank.
This is the build I have come up with: 
https://it.pcpartpicker.com/user/tidus2_0/saved/#view=jXqphM 

some motivations behind it:
- small-ish pc constraint, so I went for a mATX case/motherboard
- intel i5 for quicksync, 11th gen as the good price/performance balance. 
- case chosen for good clean storage capabilities and smaller price than competitors
- HDDs are already there from previous build
- no GPU should be needed thanks to the iGPU quicksync, so the PSU should be enough at 400W
- motherboard chosen as cheaper asus mATX with good IO (e.g. usb-c)

Any advice/comment is more than welcome, especially as I am no expert (first pc build). 
I'd like advice especially on the choice of motherboard, case and cpu, and if there are ways to save some more money (Italy based)
In particular: I think AMD is a no without discrete GPU due to the absence of quickysinc, right?

For context, for the moment I will handle only maximum 3 1080p streams, but I'd like to be ready for those to be 4k in the future. 
The computer is also gonna be used for light office use.

GrimReaper
1 hour ago, alberto.bracci said:

wanted to build a new future proof-ish pc

For some future-proofing, IMHO your should go with 12th (or 13th) gen Intel (that doesn't mean 11th gen won't serve you well for intended purpose, just that 12/13th gens brought along considerable architectural changes/optimizations); though, that being a Linux build, you might encunter some driver issues if opted for, albeit, if any issues are hit, it is reasonable to expect they'd be fleshed out eventually. 

1 hour ago, alberto.bracci said:

I think AMD is a no without discrete GPU due to the absence of quickysinc, right?