SSL Certificate

apefray

apefray

I've just opened the Emby app on My android phone and a message popped up regarding a SSL Certificate. I should have paid more attention, but just went ahead and pressed the Yes button as it warned me, if I didn't, I wouldn't be able to open the app on my phone. 

10 mins later, and I'm now thinking should I have done this, why has the app requested the install of a SSL Certificate all of a sudden.

I've been running the app for 7 years, and it has never asked me this before. I checked the logs and can't see anything related to a certificate, but I did see a failed Admin log in attempt at 7.30 in the morning ( I do have a strong password, not used anywhere else). 

Should I be concerned about either the failed login in attempt, or the SSL Certificate it asked me to install? 

Edited by apefray

HI, it's not installing an SSL certificate. It is simply for you to approve the SSL certificate that you've installed on your Emby Server.

• 10 months later...
danielwill

It seems sense to be concerned given the abrupt request for the installation of an SSL certificate and the unsuccessful attempt at admin login. The following actions can be taken to evaluate the situation:

Regarding the SSL Certificate:- Verify the Source:- Verify that the SSL certificate request is authentic and originates from the Emby app's official website. Make sure the Emby app was downloaded from a reliable source, like the Google Play Store.

Check App Settings:- Examine the Emby app's settings on your Android device. There might be a section related to security or connections where you can review the SSL certificate information. Verify that installing the certificate is a necessary component of an authorized update or security improvement.