Drive Pooling?

casminkey

casminkey

I've been using Flexraid for many years and have been running in to some minor issues here and there. Upon investigating, I realized that the developer has apparently gone MIA back in 2019. So looks like I need to find a new solution to pool all of my hard drives in to one logical drive. What's everyone using these days?

I scoured the topics and found StableBit DrivePool which looks nice and trying that out for now. I don't care about the duplication options if a drive fails. I have an cloud backup service that everything is backed up to.

Thanks!

Happy2Play

Been using StableBit DrivePool and Scanner for years without issue.  

You also have DriveBender also.

TeamB
2 hours ago, Happy2Play said:

Been using StableBit DrivePool and Scanner for years without issue. 

+1 for DrivePool and Scanner

I also use SnapRaid.

I have a combination of media files and work files on my JBOD, backed up using RnapRaid, it has worked very well over the last 8 or so years, saved me from total drive loss, data corruption, and disk bit degradation (bad sectors popping up) a few times.

rbjtech

+1 for DrivePool + Scanner here as well (+ CloudDrive, but I don't use that much)

I like the ability to actually use the raw NTFS drives without the software in a worst case scenerio as DrivePool effectively just sits in the middle of standard I/O Ops.

I also like the core utilities such as SSD Optimizer and File Placement that means you can put files on SSD's to improve performance - effectively storage tiering.

• 1 month later...
Jammi3D

I've been looking at StableBit for a while, I've got about 12 drives in my server varying from 6TB to 18TB and most are 90% full. (approx 120TB)

How would I go about setting up a drivepool for the drives with data on as I see all drives will need to be formatted.

rbjtech
52 minutes ago, Jammi3D said: