Problems with Sync and "allegedly" missing film files

Wlapol

Hello,
I am new to the Emby topic. Please excuse me if I ask questions now that are probably already answered in some post. I have searched and read a lot, but somehow I am still missing two important pieces of the mosaic. On the one hand, I lack a basic understanding regarding the database sync, and on the other hand, I am stuck on a technical problem. If someone can point me in the right direction so that I can find the red thread, then I'll keep looking.

Briefly about my structure:

I have installed the Emby server on a Linux computer (Ubuntu 20.04). The aim is to use Emby as a central library for several Kodi installations (1x Shield, 1x Tablet etc.). The films are to be retrieved directly so that no transcoding is necessary on the LAN.

I use Kodi 19.3. For Emby, I found the plug-in "plugin.video.emby-next-gen-7.9.4.zip" on the Internet and installed it. This is supposed to be compatible with Kodi 18 and higher. To prevent the videos from being transcoded in the LAN, I chose the Native/direct path variant.

The whole thing worked perfectly at first, but suddenly I can no longer play any films because they are allegedly no longer available. But this is not true, because Kodi has access to the network folder with the films and I can also play them normally if I do not call them up via the Emby addon but via the file manager.
Does anyone have any tips on this? I've tried pretty much all the options, reinstalled and much more, but I can't get any further. At times, no films are displayed at all. If I then switch on the item "Share sources" in the context menu of the Kodi film menu, the films are suddenly displayed again. But they are not found and cannot be played.

And my second question, which came up when the whole thing worked briefly, is: