Buffer size setting wanted.

DreamSeason

DreamSeason

In recent versions, this setting is no longer available. My tv box would drop off wifi sometimes. So I'd like to have the player buffered certain contents in ram. Otherwise, emby stopped playing and went back to the show page. My parents far from my house use internet browsering my emby library in which case buffer is also a better choiçe considering it's internet not local net.

I've asked for this for a few times in other threads. I've seen devs arguing it brings more thouble than benefits. I've also suggested enabling buffer only for direct plays if there were indeed troubles as devs said. Being a dev myself, I'd like to know more details if emby devs would share their thoughts for the removal of this setting.

It doesn't, but it might perform better to such a degree that you might not think it's necessary anymore.

DreamSeason
1 hour ago, Luke said:

It doesn't, but it might perform better to such a degree that you might not think it's necessary anymore.

Then I guess ET has a bigger default buffer size setting, isn't it? Btw, I've come across one problem regarding sound. The video has AC3 codec which my box can not handle. ATV would still output sound(maybe I've enalbed downmix to stereo setting?) while ET keeps silent. :(  I've searched the related setting in ET but to no avail.

• 4 weeks later...
On 10/8/2022 at 2:26 AM, DreamSeason said:

Then I guess ET has a bigger default buffer size setting, isn't it? Btw, I've come across one problem regarding sound. The video has AC3 codec which my box can not handle. ATV would still output sound(maybe I've enalbed downmix to stereo setting?) while ET keeps silent. :(  I've searched the related setting in ET but to no avail.

@DreamSeason Hi.  Can you try the latest version and let me know if you get audio now?

https://emby.media/emby-for-android.html

Thanks.

• 2 weeks later...
TexasMouse

+1