Trouble playing 1080 mkv files

kmanning

kmanning

I am new to Emby, so please excuse me if this has been covered before.  My video library is a mixed DVD, BluRay, and 4K collection all ripped using MakeMKV.  The files all playback fine on the server using VLC, and play back fine on other devices (iPad, other computers).  Using Roku Ultra with the latest Emby  app, 480 movies play fine, and 4K movies play fine.  But 1080 movies all stop playback mid-stream, and for each movie the stopping point is always the same exact spot.  When playback stops the player drops back to the main screen for that movie. I have tried adjusting all the playback settings with no improvement.

Server: 4.7.6.0 running on Windows 10 pc, AMD Ryzen 2800x, 32GB, movies stored on mixed SSDs 2-4TB in a Terramaster external enclosure

Emby Premier subscription

Any suggestions or additional information that I need to provide?

Thanks

Hi.  When you reproduce this problem, please also follow the instructions in that link to send a log from the app.  Be sure to turn on the debug option and restart the app before recreating the problem.

Thanks.

kmanning

Playing file Live and Let Die.mkv

In first scene after opening credits playback stopped and Emby returned to the home screen for that movie

Log sent 17:42 EDT

user name krmann

embyserver.txt

Hi.  How were these items with this problem created?  The player thinks the video is finished which points to an error in the index or metadata for the video file itself.

kmanning

Standard Blu-Ray disk which I own, ripped with MakeMKV standard settings. 

It looks like all my ripped BluRay disks do the same thing at different points in playback.  DVD (480) content and 4K seem to play OK

This particular movie - Live and Let Die - plays without a hitch on the Emby iPad app, from the Emby server web interface (I use Firefox), and plays flawlessly with VLC

Happy2Play

Every player has its own tolerances, and the Roku is probably the worst.