Access VPN remotely with PrivateVPN enabled

AndrewDub622

AndrewDub622

Hey guys

I recently got PrivateVPN and got a vpn running on my NAS (OpenVPN) and can access my Server when I'm home and the VPN is on but when its on and I'm away from home I cant. Any advice. I'm a rookie

Screen Shot 2022-04-28 at 2.39.28 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-04-28 at 2.39.48 PM.png

AndrewDub622

Oh it's PrivateVPN I'm using. I understand they support Port Forwarding. I'm running Emby on a Synology NAS if it helps 

11 minutes ago, AndrewDub622 said:

Oh it's PrivateVPN I'm using. I understand they support Port Forwarding. I'm running Emby on a Synology NAS if it helps 

OK I think that would be a good thing to start with. You can learn what ports to configure in our remote setup guide:

https://support.emby.media/support/solutions/articles/44002137137-remote-setup

Please let us know if this helps. Thanks.

AndrewDub622

Cool! I'm assuming it's on the Mac or Windows PrivateVPN app. I try on the NAS with the VPN on and it doesn't let me change anything and it disables my rules. (Yes I'm a rookie) lol

AndrewDub622

Okay Ports are Forwarded on my Router. Next up, Forward them in the VPN I think. Still have UPNP on. I read the manual and understood most of it lol 

What I did, with exactly this problem, was to create an SSL cert for one of my sub domains, following this guide:

https://support.emby.media/support/solutions/articles/44001160086-secure-your-server

This then secured my Emby server.

I setup a VPN like you. This has all my NAs traffic going through it...except my secured Emby server, which I set up as follows:

For the same sub domain I setup a DDNS service, pointing to my public IP from my intenrnet provider (non VPN address).

1369293900_Screenshot2022-04-30083935.thumb.jpg.5e39ed34813d44f6babe1423a806914e.jpg

The no-ip.com setting is the 'open' IP address from my intenrnet provider, and this is used to access my Emby server, as it bypasses the VPN.