Help for the seriously challenged newb

narayansmate
Go to solution Solved by FrostByte,

narayansmate

Hi. Soooo new to this. I have a Synology DS220+. I have used a guide to set up the nas and have transferred all my media to it. I have also installed the Emby package on it, opened it, signed up for Premiere and tried to add my library. The problem is it doesn't see any files. HOW do I get it to see the files on my NAS. Bear in mind I don't know that much about this, so apologies and no eye rolling please...

Happy2Play

Moving to Synology section

What DSM version?  If DSM 7 did you verify internal user on your Shares?

permissions.jpg

narayansmate

Hi. Thanks for responding so quickly. I have never used or had a NAS before. I am using DSM 7. No, I did not. I just followed the wizard. Is there an easy guide for full setup somewhere which just allows me to get to my media easily? Thanks in advance.

narayansmate

So, I think the real problem is: how do I point Emby towards the network share? I don't seem to be able to access it or find it, per the attached image. Is it the IP address or?? Sorry, and thanks.

Capture.PNG

• Solution
FrostByte

Here is an example of my Movies library. 

• MEDIA-SERVER is my NAS name, but you could use the IP
  • MyEmbyMedia is the share name I'm using just like the pic H2P posted earlier.
  • Underneath the share is a folder for the library Movies
  • Underneath Movies I have folders for each movie

embyfolders.jpg.02bb50fe6586edded305824825835a5c.jpg

22 minutes ago, narayansmate said:

Thanks so much for that. I'll give it a whirl and report back 

Just to confirm, right now you are trying to add media already on the NAS to Emby correct? That's what @FrostByte is showing you above.

You can also add media from network locations as well but there is one step needed first. Then you would do the same thing.

narayansmate