Plugin Development - First timer :)

emargee

Hi all, (I hope this is the best place to post this!)

I am developing my first plugin (dont worry, I have many years of C# experience), I just wanted to check if what I am trying to do is possible before going down the rabbit hole!

My use-case is very slim, I will quickly try and summarise:

• All media is UHD ISO/BDMV on NAS
  • Using Emby as a front end which (via another plugin) then mounts + play the discs on a separate player - Emby never plays the files
  • I wish to get some extra media info so I can tell if the discs are HDR10/HDR10+/DolbyVision + DTS/Dolby Atmos etc
  • I want to write a plugin that can add this media info to the library screen.

I know there have been dicussions about not wanting to support MediaInfo for people who use ISO/BDMV backup and I totally get that and how its better for the team to focus on MKV but I thought I would roll my own plugin and give it a try.

What I would like to know is:

• What service do I integrate with to add information to the "MediaInfo" section of the library screen (individual item)? Am I creating a custom media provider ? or is there some other recommended way?
  • What service will allow me to access the iso or folder structure ? Is it still IIsoManager & IBlurayExaminer ?
  • If I add the correct media info will the area at the top (just under the title) update automatically or is this another service I need to plumb into to push this data ?

BluRay UHD (no media info)

image.png.88f77bc1788c1a9130918c2fa2b63945.png

MKV UHD (media info!)

image.png.93a8f7c249db0b7df76f4a9428e10990.png

• Do you integrate on a particular event (metadata refresh for example) or at some other point to trigger the scan ?

Any help (or links to open-source plugins that do similar) would be appreciated ! Thanks :)

Edited by emargee