Roku can't find local server movie with voice command

jwhwab
Go to solution Solved by ebr,

I have Emby Server (EmbyCon addon for Kodi) on Windows 10 PC going through a Roku Ultra to play movies on TV. The play back is good, all the controls work fine and I'm pretty satisfied with it. The one thing I can't get to work is the Roku voice search to find movie titles in my local server. I get the voice message "not found in Emby" and it finds the correct title in other apps including Plex. I must be doing something wrong - I'm new to this kind of set up. Can someone give me some ideas? Thanks

• Solution
4 minutes ago, jwhwab said:

it finds the correct title in other apps including Plex

Hi.  Are you sure it is finding your local title?

The way that Roku search works requires that we provide them with a global list of content.  We don't have that since you all have your own content.  Therefore, unfortunately, we are not compatible with their global search.

Thanks for the quick response. Roku is finding the correct movie - Scrooged. My title is not the same but Scrooged is the first word. So each media app provides a global list of content? Does the Roku voice command search for the text in the title or something else?

15 minutes ago, jwhwab said:

Roku is finding the correct movie - Scrooged. My title is not the same but Scrooged is the first word

If you click the item returned in the search for the other guys, exactly where does it take you?

The icon that shows up is labeled "Movies from Roku". Click on that it takes me to an offer to rent the movie from Prime, Vudu, etc. I tried the movie Eraser this time.

22 hours ago, jwhwab said:

The icon that shows up is labeled "Movies from Roku". Click on that it takes me to an offer to rent the movie from Prime, Vudu, etc. I tried the movie Eraser this time.

Right those are all global services but you said your local content from your other server showed up as well...