Getting rid of FlexRaid

Nate8727
Go to solution Solved by Nate8727,

Nate8727

So I've been using FlexRaid for a couple of years now, and it's been giving me a lot of problems when accessing the storage pool.  It's been causing problems regardless of the OS.

I decided to just cut out the middle man and get rid of it altogether.  That leaves me with a couple of questions.

I added each drive individually to the default media library where each instance of Movies or TV Shows was located.  FlexRaid puts the files spread across multiple drives.

This is just one instance:

//D:/Movies/The Avengers (2012)/The Avengers (2012).mp4

//E:/Movies/The Avengers (2012)/folder.jpg

//E:/Movies/The Avengers (2012)/movie.xml

//F:/Movies/The Avengers (2012)/backdrop1.jpg

Every folder is different for Movies and TV Shows.  Some have most of the files for that show or movie, and others just have one file on each drive.  TV Shows could contain a few episodes, or it could have the whole season.  It's completely random, and an organizational nightmare.

1. Despite MB3 scanning right now (around 60% currently), is that type of file structure going to mess everything up when I go to my media?

2. Am I going to have to clean up all of the mess that FlexRaid did by consolidating each TV Show or Movie into its own folder so it's on 1 drive and not spanned on multiple?

Thanks for any advice.

Yeah, that's gonna be tough to re-consolidate everything.  Not sure if there is any kind of tool that can do that.

What are the problems you were having?  I switched to FR earlier this year and have been very happy with it.

Nate8727

It kept disconnecting, which made watching anything impossible.  I've tried the FlexRaid support forum,posted logs, etc..

I've tried it with Windows 7, Windows 8, OS X (Current Setup), but each instance was the same issue.  It's not the hardware or the OS, so that leaves FlexRaid and some kind of bug they haven't fixed.