SSL connect- iOS and FireTV apps not behaving the same as Android app

Garbonzo17

Garbonzo17

Problem: When connecting to emby.my.domain in a web browser from anywhere, it shows the lock and is forced to ssl (by nginx).  However I can use the app on my phone, and use the settings of emby.my.doman and port 80 (which nginx routes to my machine with emby 8096 and "handled by reverse proxy" selected -- and as I said, works in the browser correctly while not specifying a port, so 80.. )  and it works fine... on my Android phone with the Android app... but have the same information typed into my sisters iPhone, and get an unable to connect message (wifi disabled, so using LTE) both connect fine with wifi on... (her firetv device at her home has similar results, and its frustrating.)

Setup:
own "my.domain"
running nginx and nginx proxy manager in docker.
I am not a pro with nginx (why I use the NPM gui) so I am not sure of what logs would be helpful, but this is the gist.. emby.my.domain points to http://192.168.111.104:8096 with these ssl toggles all ENABLED: Force SSL - HTTP/2 Support - HSTS Enabled and HSTS Subdomains... and like I said, its all peachy in a web browser and it pulls an A+ from SSLLabs... it seems like these apps are just not liking the port 80 (but android jdgaf and works)... I am not sure why this is, but my whole point of using nginx was to not have to have any ports but 80/443 open on my router.. .

any insight much appreciated.

tia.

-G

Hi, I guess I'd have to ask why do you have nginx set to forward port 80 to Emby's 8096?
Why do you even have port 80 forwarded on your router?

If you want to stop any port other than 443 then don't allow it through your router and/or setup nginx to handle this.

@pir8radio has done a fantastic overview of how to setup nginx for use with Emby.

Garbonzo17
5 hours ago, ebr said:

Hi.  Is your certificate from LetsEncrypt and did this start around Sep 29th?