Google TV/Shield search is global

westhill

westhill

I just got a Sony TV with Google (Android) TV and I have a 2017 Shield that was recently upgraded to the 'new experience' look and feel. I am a novice when it comes to Android TV.

When I search for a title in either the TV or Shield app it performs a global search and looks beyond the Emby app and suggests titles form streaming services. It does not return titles are in the Emby server. Is this some setting I have missed that is allowing this to happen? When I search on my Android phone or PC app it searches only with the content I have on my local Emby server. I have Premiere if that makes a difference.

Thanks for any comments or suggestions.

Hi, this sounds like you might be pushing the mic button on the remote vs using the Emby search.

Try going up to the top row in Emby where the magnifying glass/search is located and using that.

Hi.  Yes, it sounds like you are using the Google Assistant search.  If you enable that for Emby in the device settings, you will get Emby results as well but, if you really just want to search in Emby, then use the search icon at the top of the page.

Please let us know if this answers your question.

westhill

Thank you. I tried on my Shield box to disable voice search for Emby and used the search within Emby as I had previously done and Search prompts for permission to access the mic for voice search. If I disable voice search for Emby, it stays within the Emby for search results.

Then I tried on my Google TV that still has mic access enabled and when I initially select search within Emby it lands on the voice search screen and if I do a voice search it shows me results that do not include Emby, only the streamers. If I click into the search box and type I am contained with Emby (my desired behaviour).

So, disable the voice search for Emby then? Or continue to click into the search box?

Thanks!

westhill
4 hours ago, cayars said: