Emby for Android: Free playback with no paywall

EmeyWhatson

EmeyWhatson

I'm new to Emby. Installed  Appvalley on my Ubuntu server today (docker) and love it compared to Plex. Installed the Android app a https://vlc.onl/ nd can play all content no issue. My wife tried the same on iPhone and hits the paywall. 

The Emby site suggests both apps should have the paywall. Any idea how i'm able to play back content on the Android app for free? Samsung S20+  Tweakbox

Edited by EmeyWhatson
  • Thanks 1

image.png

They should act the same. Are you saying they are not?

@EmeyWhatson From the looks of things you are an incredibly honest and good person. You want to know why it is allowing you something you should normally need to pay for. Thank you for bringing this to attention. @ebr

I mean this in the most sincere way. Usually people are prone to take advantage. Thank you for being who you are. You are made of the good stuff.

Edited by speechles
  • Like 1
  • Agree 1

vdatanet
3 hours ago, EmeyWhatson said:

I'm new to Emby. Installed on my Ubuntu server today (docker) and love it compared to Plex. Installed the Android app and can play all content no issue. My wife tried the same on iPhone and hits the paywall.

The Emby site suggests both apps should have the paywall. Any idea how i'm able to play back content on the Android app for free? Samsung S20+

Are you sure you installed Emby for Android? Maybe you installed Emby for Android TV, you can install it in a phone. That app has two week trial.

Over the years there have been a few sporadic reports of a few lucky users getting playback unlocked. We have not been able to reproduce or chase it down, but I'm sure sooner or later we will.

• Haha 1

• 4 weeks later...
Lusicale