Trying to write my first Plug WakeOnAccess

Jack187

Jack187

Hello everybody,

I'm new to emby and I want to write my first plugin, because I was looking for a functionality that the emby server doesn't seem to provide out of the box.

I have the following constellation:

One server acts a a Sat server and emby server. This server is always on.

Besides of that, I have a second server that acts as a NAS. Because of the high power consumption (120W idle), this NAS is usually in standby (maybe 22h a day).

What I want to achieve is that as soon as a client requests a video, my plugin should wake the NAS via wake on lan.

I allready have a basic plugin (from the wiki) up and running. I was also able to attach to the playback started event.

So when the NAS is up an running and a client (e.g. in chrome) requests playback of a movie, then my plugin gets called when playback starts and writes a message to the logfile that I can see afterwards. But unfortunately that's too late, because if the NAS is in standby playback can't start.

It would be great if anyone could point me in the right direction, what I have to do to be called as soon as the user hits the Play button, that I'm able to check if the NAS is up and if not to wake it via wake on lan.

Thank you!

Regards

Jack

Edited by Jack187

chef

Would it be better to use the session events to wake the NAS. When a session starts, look to see if the NAS is up.

Jack187

Hi chef,

thank you for your reply :) ! 

When I understood your suggestion right, the wake up signal will then be send as soon as the user logs in (or new session is started). I thought about that, too. But I don't want always start playing a movie when I start a session. Often I just want to watch Live-TV, which is also served completly on the emby server (sat server)...

Or did I get something wrong? Perhaps you or someone else have another approach?

Regards

Jack

chef