Content file "doesn't exist" after iOS Chromecast glitch

ianawilson
Go to solution Solved by Luke,

ianawilson

First of all, since the Chromecast rewrite in the iOS app 1.1.4, it was been awesome—THANK YOU!

But I had something very strange happen today. I was playing an album that I've played many times before (Building an Empire) with Emby. I started playing it on my phone (now version 1.1.6), and I heard the first few seconds come out of the phone before remembering I wanted to hit the Chromecast button. I selected my Chromecast, and the art and song metadata appeared on the TV, but the song didn't play. It appeared stuck in the app, no matter where I scrolled to. Other albums played just fine from my phone via the same Chromecast connection. I quit and tried reinstalling on the phone, but same behavior.

Figuring this was a weird glitch on the phone, I tried it in Chrome on my laptop (no casting this time), and got the same problem: other albums played fine, but Building an Empire did not. I didn't see anything in /var/log/emby-server.log, but I did see this in the Chrome Console:

mediacontroller.js?v=3.0.5931.0:64 LocalAssetManager.fileExists: path: /caduceus/media/music/Demians/Building An Empire/01 The Perfect Symmetry.m4a result: false
htmlmediarenderer.js?v=3.0.5931.0:11 Media element error code: 4

I verified that the file exists with ls:

ls "/caduceus/media/music/Demians/Building An Empire/01 The Perfect Symmetry.m4a" -lah
-rw-r--r-- 1 ian ian 59M Feb 23 22:20 /caduceus/media/music/Demians/Building An Empire/01 The Perfect Symmetry.m4a

I tried restarting the emby-server service (originally 3.0.5931.0, updated to 3.0.5932.0, released just a few hours ago) and rebooting the Ubuntu server (14.04 LTS) it runs on, but it didn't help. I tried moving the folder out of the library, rescanning to see it was gone, moving it back, rescanning again for it to reappear, but same behavior.