DavidP5219 1 Posted 8 hours ago Posted 8 hours ago By default when you set up a user they have the ability to delete anything in your server. This seems crazy to me that any user can just delete your files. I would think only the administrator should be able to do that. Any way you change this default setting for future versions? I only found this out today because one of my users mentioned he was able to do that and sure enough when i went in there all users have that ability by default. What does everyone else think?
Abobader 3512 Posted 8 hours ago Posted 8 hours ago Hello DavidP5219, ** This is an auto reply ** Please wait for someone from staff support or our members to reply to you. It's recommended to provide more info, as it explain in this thread: Thank you. Emby Team
Luke 42888 Posted 8 hours ago Posted 8 hours ago Hi, no they don’t. You must have granted then delete permission in their user setup.
DavidP5219 1 Posted 7 hours ago Author Posted 7 hours ago I don't think I would do that but if you are sure then maybe I did. I will for sure be checking now when I set up a new user. 1
RanmaCanada 573 Posted 55 minutes ago Posted 55 minutes ago Luke is correct. I complained about this years ago as I had stuff go missing from my server. It turned out in the ancient builds (like 2016), it was on by default. Since then, the dev team has it disabled and you must physically enable it for the user.
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now