Jump to content

New Emby installation data folder question


Recommended Posts

GameOverAus
Posted

So i've been a plex user for years but recent updates are rendering it more and more worthless and anti-user friendliness, much Windows vs Linux
Initially tried Jellyfin but that hammers the Synology drives to the point the pool kept crashing one of the drives

Anyway i installed Emby via the package manager and noticed something which likely doesnt matter but Emby my setup has the Nas system and a Volume 1 which is the shared pool and within that i have it broken down to a drive that essentially holds all stuff accessed by my windows PC and is where the media is stored for Plex.
and another that was purely the Plex appdata folder so if something went wrong it was easy to access,

As can be seen in the pic Volume 1 has docker, emby (ignore this it was created for what im asking for), PlexMediaServer (the appadata for plex) and Synology is the drive share with the network

Plex  allowed you to put the appdata elsewhere but Emby does not? it installs it to the hidden system folders which are only accessible via ssh?
Is my only option to do it by docker and try to work out what the bleep im doing?

So i want Emby to be installed into that Emby folder or the AppData to be in that Emby Folder not in the system

I uninstalled it and tried reinstalling it and it immediately found the server again so clearly it is retaining that information.  Jellyfin did the same.

Screenshot 2026-08-14 123440.jpg

GameOverAus
Posted

Sorry just an adition

Reason being I uninstalled it and tried reinstalling it and it immediately found the server again so clearly it is retaining that information.  Jellyfin did the same. and going in by SSH/Putty and the folders are still there after installation. SO what is it actually uninstalling?

Or is this purely a Synology issue?  Thanx if you got this far and kudos to the makers, it's atleast an alternative 

Screenshot 2026-08-14 123440.jpg

Posted

HI, we don't currently have a way of moving this to another location on Synology. When you uninstall, it does leave the data folder behind, so this requires a manual deletion if you want to make a fresh start when reinstalling.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...