Is there a guide available for view HDR content in Emby Theatre for PC

gwujkiw

gwujkiw

Would like any info or instructions on how to watch HDR movies within Emby Theatre if anyone has any good resources.

Thanks again.

Sammy

My first inclination was @

He'll help you spend your money!

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Edited by Sammy

Guest asrequested

My first inclination was @

He'll help you spend your money!

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Lol. It doesn't actually cost anything :)

Guest asrequested

And just to make it clear, you don't actually need to do anything to play HDR media. It will automatically tone-map. It just doesn't use wide color gamut by default. It will map to bt.709.

gwujkiw

Luke, it would make things much easier if you included the auto-profiles script with the installation.

So I'm pretty knowledgeable and not a complete newbie to using programs like this but ideally yes I would love to learn how to use the internal player to do it as I imagine that is the easiest.  But if you also have knowledge of how to use an external player to do it that would be helpful too.  Maybe let me know the advantages to disadvantages of both.

gwujkiw

And just to make it clear, you don't actually need to do anything to play HDR media. It will automatically tone-map. It just doesn't use wide color gamut by default. It will map to bt.709.

Do I have to enable HDR in windows 10 display settings at all?  Normally with HDR content my TV's contrast settings and brightness change within the TV's menu and I know its on.

Guest asrequested

Do I have to enable HDR in windows 10 display settings at all? Normally with HDR content my TV's contrast settings and brightness change within the TV's menu and I know its on.

This is where people are getting confused. I imagine because they don't understand what and how HDR actually works.

The short answer is no, you just hit play.