Installing Emby Server and Client on Android Box

GeorgeCalli

GeorgeCalli

Hi. I'm a newbie to Emby and need to clarify a few points please.

1. If I install the Emby Server on the Android Box, do I have to also install the Client if I want to play from the Android Box?
  2. Once the Emby Server is enabled on the Android Box and all the media on a HDD is attached via USB cable, can I then add media to the HDD attached to the Android box from the PC?
  3. To play on the LG TVs, must I then download the app on each TV?
  4. All are connected to my home network - will this setup work?

Thanks for the help.

Appreciated.

Hi,

1 yes
2 depends on the android box. The Shield TV for example will allow you to mount the USB drive and remotely connect to it.  My other Android boxes will not allow this.
3 yes
4 yes it can work but running Emby Server on Android would not be my first choice.  If at all possibe install on a PC as it's far more flexible and won't have I/O limitations like most android boxes.

GeorgeCalli

Thanks for the info. I will look into it further and once sorted will provide feedback. 

I have a H96Pro+. Does anyone perhaps know if it will allow me to mount the USB HDD and connect to it remotely (on same network)?

Thanks once again. 

I tried Googling this but didn't find anything.

I don't know how many people have this device running Emby Server on it. Then using USB drives attached vs network storage.

Likely, you will have to try it yourself to see what options are available.  You may be able to get this kind of info on their support forums as well.

GeorgeCalli

Hi.

I actually got the idea from the appended link and thought it would be a good idea.

Your thoughts on the matter will be appreciated.

We haven't tried this box ourselves but I'd be curious to know of your results if you end up trying it.

GeorgeCalli

It will be a pleasure getting back to you with feedback once I try it in a couple of weeks - time constraints unfortunately.