TVHeadend config

veehexx1

veehexx1

hoping theres someone familiar with tvheadend that can clarify some questions i have, as i'm new to it.

I'm recieving a DVB-S2 signal in the UK, and using the BBC's tuning info as the initial start freq.

1. First time initial scan done 3 months ago when i deployed emby&TVH. I'm now seeing channels no longer working as they've moved mux. What do i need to do to autodetect these settings or is it a question of manually looking for the new mux tuning info, add and scan that specific mux? digitalspy freesat changelog ONLY gives freq, not polarity, FEC or modulation changes. My guess is that because multiple services come down on each mux, then i cant edit the old mux, change freq, and job done as that would break the other services that may not have changed.
  2. where do bouquets come into things? This is a completely new item to me so i'm not sure if i should be using them or not (ie: are they useful for use with emby deployments), what happens when services change - do i need to change anything so emby knows thats the new channel details?
  3. do i need to be manually ordering TVH channels for use with emby or does the emby EPG handle ordering? from day 1 i set TVH channels as to include their correct freesat number; '101 BBC One', '103 ITV Central' etc. Can i drop the 3 digital channel number and emby will maintain the correct order, or has emby used these numbers to order them correctly?

the main headache i seem to be facing is the long term maintenance of the TVHeadend channels. Theres got to be a better way to keep ontop of changes than the 100% manual process i'm doing right now.

If you had this working previously and were not using bouquets then I'd not worry about them as it's one less thing to deal with.

What you likely need to do is a complete scan of all channels inside TVH which should add/remove channels to match your tuner.  Very the channels work in TVH.